Forum: Highland / Highland - Adult Dancers

Flinging all over the place....
By kinsidhe
On Tue Sep 13, 2011 07:56 AM

Hi!

I am hoping for thoughts, advice, words of encouragement, faerie dust..what ever is out there! I'm a novice dancer and have been dancing about a year and a half ( no previous dance training). I am really struggling with the Fling. I am still jumping all over the place. Does anyone have any ideas on how to work on staying on spot? My turns are particularly bad. But even in my steps without turns I am traveling quite a bit.Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

6 Replies to Flinging all over the place....

re: Flinging all over the place....
By LingScot
On Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:15 AM
A lot of people use "dance spots" or other similar kinds of devices to mark where you're supposed to hop. This helps you mentally know where you're supposed to be and exactly when you lose it. I actually prefer to use the reverse, if you have access to it: if you have three exercise mats (or towels or something similar) available in your practice space, put them in a triangular formation with a space in the middle of the triangle. Overlap the mats so that the space is pretty small (about the size of a dance spot). Then, when you practice the fling, you're dancing on your regular (hopefully wooden!) surface, but can easily feel when you move by feeling the softer surface of the mat. I like this better than the dance spots because the spots are an unusual surface to dance on and can sometimes slide around themselves. (As a bonus, you can also easily tell if you've got too much weight on your points in second position -- if the mats start moving around when you go from second to third aerial, you know something's wrong! Towels tend to move really easily, though, so if you have mats, I'd use those instead.)