Forum: Arts / Books

Winter book list - Help Needed!
By BloodyDanceToesmember has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Mon Nov 14, 2011 07:07 AM

I need everyone's help here, in deciding my winter reading list. I will have about a month or so off, which means I have about 4-5 books I'll have time to read (it would be more, but given holidays, and travel, probably not).

I'm an English student right now, and I'm exhausted from the survey classes I'm taking this semester. I want to read for fun again!

Here's where I need your help!

Pick me the best of the best novel you've read. Don't make a huge list - remember that I don't have time for it. In fact, if you could only recommend one, tell me what one, and why!

Limits:

Must be contemporary (current).
Must be adult fiction - unless you can make a good case for an adult non-fiction book. But it must be adult!
I'm almost open to all genres!

Really, if this book was a page turner, you couldn't put down, and was fantastic, recommend it! I'm really asking for help, because if not I'll end up reading only Stephen King, and exhaust myself again. =)

Thanks guys!

11 Replies to Winter book list - Help Needed!

re: Winter book list - Help Needed! (karma: 1)
By Gioiamember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Mon Nov 14, 2011 08:33 AM
I like classics so I am not sure if my first recommendation is the best. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. It was published in 1932 so I guess it is considered a classic, but I don't think a lot of people have read it. It was the first dystopian novel I ever read. This is a book that I think probably inspired a lot of contemporary books in the same genre.

Since that might not be what you are going for, I will recommend a book that I just picked up. I am not done with it, but it came to me with high recommendations and it is really good so far. Room by Emma Donoghue . It is narrated by a 5 year old boy who is captive in a room with his mother.