Forum: Advice / Stretching

Page:
Page 1 of 2: 1 2
Anyone else just CAN'T get center splits?
By DeStijlmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Wed Nov 16, 2011 07:27 PM

I have never gotten my center splits :(

I've been dancing since I was 4 years old. I am now 23.

I was dancing and stretching on and off again since I was 17, but have been more or less training and stretching for an entire year this year - and I still am not even close. I feel like I haven't actually seen any improvement at all. Maybe an inch, but nothing to celebrate.

Its not like I've reached a limit either. My legs cant go very far apart at all. Its kind of embarrassing. I reach my threshold very easily.

I take stretch and flexibility classes 3 times a week, and I stretch at home every other night. Pretty much all home stretching I do is for center splits.

I have my side splits, on both sides (more comfortable on the left side). I've had them since I was a kid with no struggles.

Is anyone else like this? I feel like I've been working on my middle splits for the better part of 10 years now and that my body just will never get there.

29 Replies to Anyone else just CAN'T get center splits?

re: Anyone else just CAN'T get center splits?
By panicmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Wed Nov 16, 2011 09:27 PM
Same here. My second is BARELY better than 90 degrees. Que pena. If it hasn't happened yet, it ain't gonna happen. Learn to fake it.
By MonkeyStepsmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Thu Nov 17, 2011 07:30 AM
I got my centre splits down really far, only a few inches off the ground, when I was at college - but unless I'm stretching specifically for them every day, they shoot back up to only 90 degrees again. I just stretch them as far as they go and then, like panic says, fake the rest in leaps etc.