Wanted disco kid ticket any day money waiting xx

Forum: Adults / Children & Parenting

Page:
Page 1 of 21 2
Children & Parenting
Influenza Iza Comin'! (karma: 2)  en>fr fr>en
By DefyingGravityPremium member Comments: 5235, member since Sun Jan 19, 2003
On Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:50 AM

As many of you know, I work as a nurse in an ER.

It's that time of year - we're starting to get a handful of positive influenza tests back each day, many in small children under 10 who are severely dehydrated and requiring mass fluid resuscitation, nausea medications, and hospital admissions.

Please, consider vaccinating yourselves and your children against the flu. Many get mild symptoms that pass in a few days without hospitalization, but this year my hospital has been seeing more and more children and elderly being hit with nasty, nasty symptoms.

Obviously vaccinations are controversial; I'm just asking you to weigh the pros and cons of the flu shot in your own life and the life of those around you.

Wash your hands, don't touch your face, wipe down counters and shopping cart handles, eat well, sleep well, and stay healthy!

42 Replies to Influenza Iza Comin'!

re: Influenza Iza Comin'! en>fr fr>en
By reel_faerie85member has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 4076, member since Mon Mar 08, 2010
On Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:24 PM
^ We are getting an awful lot of pneumonias here but most are saying they started with a cough or cold and just went downhill from there.

In the UK flu jabs are free for those in 'high risk' categories these include people who:

•are 65 years old or over

•are pregnant

•have a serious medical condition (see below)

•are living in a long-stay residential care home or other long-stay care facility (not including prisons, young offender
institutions or university halls of residence)

•are the main carer for an elderly or disabled person whose welfare may be at risk if you fall ill

•are a frontline health or social care worker (see below)