Forum: Adults / Money Matters

Page:
Page 1 of 21 2
Money Matters
How not to touch your savings?
By DeStijlmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 7023, member since Sat Jul 17, 2004
On Mon Mar 05, 2012 06:14 PM

I am alright at saving. As a general rule, from any pay check or windfall I receive, I tuck away $25 into a savings account.

I am a student and I work sporadically, so I am not usually saving huge amounts. Also, previously, I've not really had anything big or specific that I was saving up for, so I have a tendency to draw on my savings for stupid little things like new clothes, books, getting my hair done, or panicking and using it to pay bills earlier.

I want to start saving for an overseas trip, so I need to stop drawing on my savings. My self control is lacking, and I can't seem to do that with such an accessible savings account. All I need to do to access funds in my current savings account is log onto internet banking and hit transfer. Its way too easy, especially in the day of iPhone technology. ;)

I've looked into term deposits, but every bank I've looked at requires a $5000 minimum opening balance to start a term deposit account, which I don't have off hand. (If any Australians are reading this and know of a bank that does offer term deposits without a minimum, I'd love to hear abut them).

My question is for those among you who are lacking in self control; how do you save? I am not trying to cop out, but I don't trust myself just to let the money sit for a rainy day at this point in time. I want to have it tied up somewhere in a situation where I can put money in, but I cant get it out easily. If I cant trust myself, the next best thing is to willingly put myself in a situation where I cant access it until I'm ready.

any ideas? Advice? Stories?

27 Replies to How not to touch your savings?

re: How not to touch your savings?
By Leigha_Ballerina Comments: 490, member since Tue Dec 17, 2002