Popular Irish

Free Irish Dance Board Game! by irishdanceok
Free printable Irish dance board game at www.leapsandlaughs.com . . .. Check it out and pass it on!

Forum: Ballet / Ballet - Beginners

Ballet - Beginners
what should I wear under my leotard? en>fr fr>en
By doctordance Comments: 166, member since Wed Sep 17, 2003
On Thu Mar 08, 2012 09:42 PM

Ok so I am going back to ballet, after 7 years away, and I am a beginner adult. I need to know - what should I wear under my leotard? I'll need 'support'! But don't want lines or bulges. All suggestions will be useful. The regular underwear stores were not helpful at all. What is a body stocking and would that be a good option?

Adults or those with fuller figures I would be particularly interested in your opinion here.

thanks!

19 Replies to what should I wear under my leotard?

re: what should I wear under my leotard? en>fr fr>en
By magdalenemember has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 396, member since Fri Apr 27, 2007
On Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:03 PM
tights and a sports bra (preferably not racerback)
By hummingbird Comments: 8370, member since Mon Apr 18, 2005
On Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:08 PM
Body stockings are used so that stage lights don't make light coloured leotards see through under bright stage lights so they really aren't needed in classes. You might find a dance skirt is helpful in making you feel more comfortable in class. Just check your studio's dress code though.
On Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:25 PM
Thanks to both of you :) I should be more specific - where do you normally find decent sensible underwear to go under a leotard for class?
By Gioiamember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 3015, member since Sun Jun 20, 2004
On Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:59 PM