Forum: Competitions

watching other dances at Competition
By millysmommy
On Wed Mar 21, 2012 04:47 AM

I just read a post about a teacher not wanting their students to watch the other dancers at a competition, and alot of people seemed ot agree. I am taking my students to their first competition in 2 weeks and It's the first time I've been to a competition in 11 years, but when i was a student attending my teacher always had us watch the other dancers and it was one of my favorite parts of spending a whole weekend there was getting to see what others were doing.

I am excited about getting my dancers out - we are from a very small community and we are going to a big city where I'm sure they are going to see things they have never seen before, and I was looking forward to having them wacth others and expose them to that. Is this a bad idea, should I not have them watch the others?

9 Replies to watching other dances at Competition

re: watching other dances at Competition
By DaDancingPsych
On Wed Mar 21, 2012 06:54 AM
I would be interested to read this thread, as I do not understand the reasoning for not having them watch. Are they referring to the dance right before them? I can understand that, as I would want my dancers focused on the job that they need to do.

My current students don’t compete, but rather we do attend various conventions and they have watched the competitions attached to these. I have found much value in the conversations that we have had afterward. They have often pointed out a dance or dancer that they enjoyed and we were able to discuss what we enjoyed about it. Was it the fact that they were clean and tight? Did they have amazing stage presence? Were they performing amazing feats (which often leads to talks about the amount of time that person spends in class, which is much more than my respectable recreational dancers.)