Forum: Competitions

HELP!!!!!!......afraid of competition DISASTER coming my way!
By Daaaance5
On Thu Apr 26, 2012 01:31 PM

Hello all teachers at dance.net,
I am in desperate need of advice! Sorry this is so long but I am going to lose my mind if I don't post!
I recently entered my students/studio (I am a teacher and competition manager) from ages 9-15 for rainbow dance connection online. I received competition schedule this morning, and we compete into the evening FRIDAY SATURDAY AND SUNDAY. Awards are not until 10:55pm on Saturday, then we compete early the next day.
Question 1: I have a good amount of first time competitiors on my Junior level intermediate team, I am worried they will be worn out and overwhelmed, How can help them to perform their best when the are going to be nervous AND sleep deprived?

Question 2: Next, Even HUGER issue! I am almost 100% positive that I entered a particular solo to compete. I triple checked my entries, and made SURE all were in order, correct, division, and age, etc. When I got my schedule this morning, one solo was missing, and there were a few dancers who were cut out of dances. Has this happened to any one before? When I called , company agreed that dancers in lyrical group could be added, but at this point about 2 weeks until comp, they could not enter a new soloist. She is a first time soloist, and has worked so hard. She will be DEVESTATED that all her teammates are competing and that she is unable to do her solo.
Ive already have had issues with her mother (many I may add), but for now they seemed to have smoothed out, and have been resolved. How do I face this woman, who already thinks everyone is out to get her daughter?
I have been able to get her into Starbound, as a soloist- she will be competing in Novice teen (13-14). Problem is.....Rainbow is on same day! However, we compete at 1:16, 8:50pm, 9:23pm, 10:28pm. Awards at 10:55pm.