Forum: Advice / Cars & Driving

Cars & Driving
So how hard is it to drive a stick?
By forgetxmexnot Comments: 759, member since Wed May 03, 2006
On Mon Jul 02, 2012 03:02 PM

I've been driving for about 3-4 years now but have always drove an automatic. I'm moving away to go to school and my parents have decided to give me one of their cars that's a manual instead of the automatic. I'm incredibly nervous about this, especially since the one time that I have tried to learn a manual, it was from my abusive ex-boyfriend who screamed at me for stalling several times (I never tried to learn after that time). This time I will actually be taught by someone who ISN'T going to scream at me, but I'm still concerned that I just won't pick it up. Where I'm moving to is also a busy urban area where 90% of my driving is going to be city driving and I know it's harder to drive a stick in the city since you have to constantly start and stop.

Any words of encouragement? I know that this is a valuable skill, so I'm excited to learn, but I'm also incredibly nervous (especially after my first experience).

18 Replies to So how hard is it to drive a stick?

re: So how hard is it to drive a stick?
By teenydanseur Comments: 513, member since Mon Nov 23, 2009
On Mon Jul 02, 2012 03:24 PM
it's just coordination thing, so it only takes practice, after learning how to do it, you can basically just sit in a parking lot for a couple of hours and get it down pat, no need to feel intimidated at all :) I'm not sure what kind of dancing you do, but it's basically just coordinating choreo for arms and legs, so after you learn footwork, you go in and add the arms, and maybe you fumble a bit, but eventually you could do those things in your sleep no problem! just stick to somewhere where other cars aren't around until you feel comfortable with shifting
re: So how hard is it to drive a stick? (karma: 1)
By Summer Comments: 1255, member since Sat Sep 09, 2006
On Mon Jul 02, 2012 03:50 PM