Forum: General / Ballroom / Salsa

Salsa
Trouble learning salsa
By BrentB66 Comments: 8, member since Mon Jul 16, 2012
On Mon Jul 16, 2012 11:08 PM

Hi. I just need some advice. I've been trying to learn salsa dancing for about a year and a half, and I"m having so much difficulty, I'm thinking of giving it up. My girlfriend has been doing it for 12 years, and so has my coworker, who teaches. They have both been working with me for the past year and a half. I've had 10 lessons, and we usually go dancing once a week, or every couple weeks. I can't seem to get the hang of it. I still havn't figured out basic moves like a ladies turn and a cross body lead. My girlfriend always criticizes me, and we always end up arguing. I'm an accomplished musician, and I thought dancing wouldn't be this hard. Any idea how long it takes in terms of years to become jusst an average social dancer ?

3 Replies to Trouble learning salsa

re: Trouble learning salsa
By majeremember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 5889, member since Sat Sep 29, 2007
On Mon Jul 16, 2012 05:16 PM
Edited by majere (186163) on 2012-07-16 17:33:57
Did you take the lessons alone or with your girlfriend? I do think you'll need more than ten lesson to adequately dance with your girlfriend who has been dancing for so long. edit: looks like she is teaching you? Bad idea.

She needs to cool it and learn to be patient with you. Not everyone learns at the same rate. When I was teaching ballroom I hated teaching couples. It was usually a mess because the lady usually picked it up faster and started telling the guy what to do. Then they guy gets frustrated and wants to give up.
By BrentB66 Comments: 8, member since Mon Jul 16, 2012
On Tue Jul 17, 2012 07:41 PM